KYLE CLOUD

Proud Texan & father of three. Kyle knows a lot about golf courses, but might not be able to locate them.

What does your job entail?

I set up and conduct sales meetings, conduct site visits to create and renew safety plans, regularly visit and contact current customers to provide ongoing service, perform typical office tasks such as emailing, calling and providing service to current and prospective customers.

What is a typical day like?

We’re usually working by 7am and home by 4 or 5. We could be in the office, on the road creating or renewing safety plans, visiting current customers, having sales meetings, attending local GCSAA Chapter events. We do about 6-10 trips per year around the country but most of our work is done in Texas.

Favorite memory from work?

Not my favorite, but it is funny. We got a call to do a site visit for a club named Meadowbrook Country Club. I told my dad that I was familiar with this club and “knew” that it was located in Tulsa, Oklahoma. A quick Google search later confirmed what I “knew”. A week later, we started out on our 5 hour road trip up to Meadowbrook in Tulsa. At about the 4 hour and 45 minute mark, my dad randomly got a call from a regional superintendent who actually hired us to complete the job at Meadowbrook. After a few minutes of small talk, my dad said on the phone, “I better let you go, we are almost in Tulsa to complete the safety plan at Meadowbrook” to which the regional superintendent replied “you mean you’re almost to Meadowbrook in Lubbock…”. So there we were, in Tulsa, Oklahoma a mere 7 hours in the opposite direction from our actual destination. Needless to say, the phone call to the Superintendent in Lubbock, TX was a bit embarrassing.

 

What’s a common question you get from customers?

A lot of our customers need guidance on what they can do with their old and unused chemicals which unfortunately in Texas, there are not a lot of good options.

What do you like most about your job?

I enjoy getting to travel and see different golf facilities around the country. It’s interesting to visit with Superintendents and learn about their operations. Working with my dad has been a great experience.

What are your hobbies and other interests outside of work?

Woodworking/Building, Playing golf (more of a theory than reality), Spending time with my family.

Where are you from?

I’ve lived in Fort Worth my entire life other than 1 year in California when I was younger, and college in Tyler, TX.

Where did you go to school?

North Crowley High School in Southwest Fort Worth. College at University of Texas at Tyler (Business Management)

How did you end up in the Golf business? I’ve been a golfer since starting High School and played in College at UT Tyler. After I graduated college, I took a job at Hollytree Country Club as a shop attendant. This was supposed to be a temporary job while I searched for a career in business, but I was quickly promoted to Assistant Golf Professional, and have been in the golf business ever since.

What do you like to do when you aren’t working?

I enjoy spending time with my family on my days off. I also enjoy doing some woodworking in my spare time.

Who are your favorite sports teams?

All North Texas Teams. Cowboys, Rangers, Stars, and Mavericks

What’s a fun fact about you many people may not know?

I like to brag about my kids so I’ll say that we have a 4 year old boy, and a set of boy/girl twins that are 2. So that means at one point, we had 3 kids all under 3 years old, that’s hard to do and makes for a very crazy house.

ABOUT US

SAFETY TRAINING VIDEOS

WRITTEN EMPLOYEE HEALTH & SAFETY PLANS

CONTACT

Sign up for our newsletter here